Bosch Packaging Services

Listen to their Senior Vice President:

Walter Häcki, Senior Vice President BOSCH Packaging Services

In our industry, the pressure to compete and the necessity to differentiate ourselves from our competitors to generate growth are extremely high. Because of global acquisitions over the last few years, we have grown on all continents. Accordingly, BOSCH Packaging Services AG is now a global company with a lot of regional differences and challenges – both cultural and structural. For the management team, It became increasingly important to create a common understanding and overview of the big picture and strategic goals. We needed an instrument to monitor the progress of our global strategy 2020, benchmark it and thereby make it visible and controllable.

We chose Z-PUNKT CONSULTING because of their interdisciplinary, analytic and methodic expertise. And because of their outstanding ability to design and implement projects in a dynamic context, with speed and structure.

 

Basic Info Bosch Packaging Services

Industry: Service and Spare Parts for Manufacturing Systems and Plant Engineering, International
Employees: > 750
Branches: > 10 Hubs and multiple Branches on all Continents
Headquarters: Beringen, Switzerland

 

Key Words

Topics and Methods: Operationalization and Analysis Design, Monitoring, Benchmarking and Steering of Global Strategies, Best Practices and Rapid Prototyping, Transformation and Change
Context and Challenge: Multinational Context and Cultural Diversity, Rapid Growth, Global Competition.

 

Background Project ‘Strategy Cockpit 2020’

BOSCH Packaging Services AG (BPS) is one of the world’s biggest players in their industry. Still, the pressure of competition and the necessity to differentiate themselves from their competitors to generate growth are extremely high. Because of global acquisitions, Bosch Packaging Services has grown substantially over the past few years. Today, Bosch Packaging Services is a global company with numerous regional differences and both cultural and structural challenges. This increased the necessity for the management team to create a common understanding and overview of the big picture of their strategic goals.

BPS formulated strategic goals they want to reach by 2020. At the core of these goals is the necessity to develop their self-concept from a technical company that is close to production towards a dynamic servicing company. By focusing on the following strategic streams, the already significant global position of Bosch Packaging Services should become furthered and solidified:

  • Regional Focus und Local Sensitivity
  • Attractive Products
  • New Business Models
  • Service Excellence

Because the management team is spread across the globe, there is a concrete need to regularly monitor and benchmark these streams in all hubs. Because of the global nature of Bosch Packaging Services, the analysis should be tool-based and work remotely.

 

Framework and Goals ‘Strategy Cockpit 2020’ Analysis Tool

  • The aim was to develop and pilot an analysis tool within a few weeks. The main purpose of the pilot was to generate insights for the final development of the analysis tool ‘Cockpit 2020’.
  • As a side effect, the results from the pilot should already be useful for the first internal strategy benchmark, and the steering of the strategic development in 2014.

 

Implementation

  • Each strategic stream was operationalized and made measurable. To win time, the BPS-specific aspects were integrated into existing Z-PUNKT CONSULTING Best Practices via Rapid Prototyping.
  • After four weeks, the operationalization of the strategic streams and the customizing and extension of the Z-PUNKT CONSULTING standard tools were completed and the pilot was initiated.
  • The conclusions of the results serve as input for a second phase in which the tool ‘Cockpit 2020’ will be finalized so it can be remotely used, globally and regularly, by 2015.
  • In the future, Bosch Packaging Services will use ‘Cockpit 2020’ twice a year to monitor their global strategy development on all continents. The results will be analyzed and reviewed by Z-PUNKT CONSULTING. In parallel, selective, qualitative control interviews will be conducted. The respective insights will serve BPS to control their strategic development both globally and regionally.

 
More Projects

Bosch Packaging Services

Das sagt der Senior Vice President:

Walter Häcki, Senior Vice President BOSCH Packaging Services

In unserer Branche sind der Konkurrenzdruck und die Notwendigkeit, sich von den Mittbewerbern zu differenzieren und Wachstum zu generieren enorm hoch. Durch weltweite Akquisitionen sind wir in den letzten Jahren auf allen Kontinenten stark gewachsen. Entsprechend ist BOSCH Packaging Services AG heute ein globales Unternehmen mit vielen regionalen Unterschieden und Herausforderungen – kulturell und strukturell. Umso mehr braucht das Führungsteam ein gemeinsames Verständnis und einen gemeinsamen Überblick über das Big Picture der strategischen Zielsetzungen. Wir brauchen ein Instrument um den Erfüllungsgrad unserer globalen Strategie 2020 zu monitoren, zu benchmarken und somit sichtbar und steuerbar zu machen.

Für die Z-PUNKT CONSULTING haben wir uns aufgrund ihrer fachübergreifenden, analytischen und methodischen Kompetenz entschieden. Und wegen der hervorragenden Fähigkeit, Projekte mit Tempo und Struktur in einem dynamischen Kontext zu konzipieren und umzusetzen.

 

Eckdaten BOSCH Packaging Services

Branche:Service und Ersatzteile im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, international
Angestellte: >750
Niederlassungen: >10 Hubs und Niederlassungen auf allen Kontinenten
Hauptsitz: Beringen, Schweiz

 

Key Words Bosch Packaging Services

Themen und Methoden: Analyse, Monitoring, Benchmarking und Steuerung globaler Strategien, Best Practices und Rapid Prototyping
Kontext und Herausforderung:
Multinationaler Kontext und Cultural Diversity, schnelles Wachstum, globaler Wettbewerb

 

Hintergrund Projekt ‚Strategy Cockpit 2020‘

BOSCH Packaging Services AG (BPS) ist weltweit einer der grössten Player in der Branche. Trotzdem sind der Konkurrenzdruck und die Notwendigkeit, sich von den Mittbewerbern zu differenzieren und Wachstum zu generieren, enorm hoch.  Durch weltweite Akquisitionen ist Bosch Packaging Services die letzten Jahre bereits stark gewachsen. Entsprechend ist BPS heute ein globales Unternehmen mit vielen regionalen Unterschieden und Herausforderungen – kulturell und strukturell. Daher benötigt das Führungsteam ein gemeinsames Verständnis und einen gemeinsamen Überblick über das Big Picture und den Fortschritt der gemeinsamen strategischen  Zielsetzungen.

Bosch Packaging Services hat sich strategische Ziele gesetzt, die sie bis zum Jahr 2020 erreichen möchten. Im Zentrum dieser Ziele steht die Notwendigkeit, das historisch gewachsene Selbstverständnis einer technik- und produktionsnahen Unternehmung in Richtung einer dynamischen Serviceorientierung weiterzuentwickeln. Durch den Fokus auf die folgenden strategischen Streams soll die bereits bedeutende globale Marktposition von Bosch Packaging Services bis in Jahr 2020 weiter gefestigt und ausgebaut werden:

  • Regional Focus und Local Sensitivity
  • Attractive Products
  • New Business Models
  • Service Excellence

Da das Führungsteam weltweit über den Globus verteilt ist, besteht der Bedarf die Entwicklungen der einzelnen Strategiestreams regelmässig in allen Hub’s zu monitoren, bzw. zu benchmarken. Aufgrund der globalen Verteilung soll die Analyse toolgestützt und remote fähig sein.
 

Rahmen und Zielvorgaben

  • Ziel war, innert weniger Wochen ein Analysetool zu entwickeln bzw. zu pilotieren. Hauptzweck des Piloten war, Erkenntnisse für die finale Entwicklung des Analysetools ‚Strategy Cockpit 2020‘ zu generieren.
  • Als side-effect sollten die Ergebnisse aus dem Piloten bereits für einen ersten internen Strategie-Benchmark 2014 und die Steuerung der strategischen Entwicklung 2014 dienen.

 

Umsetzung

  • Die jeweiligen Strategiestreams wurden operationalisiert und messbar gemacht. Um Zeit zu gewinnen wurden die BPS-spezifischen Aspekte im Rapid Prototyping Verfahren in vorhandene Best Practices bzw. Tools der Z-PUNKT CONSULTING integriert.
  • Nach 4 Wochen waren die Operationalisierung der Strategiestreams und das Customizing bzw. die Erweiterung des Z-PUNKT CONSULTING Standardtools abgeschlossen und der Pilot konnte durchgeführt werden.
  • Die Rückschlüsse der Ergebnisse dienen als Input für eine weitere Phase, in der das Tool ‚Strategy Cockpit 2020‘ finalisiert und remote fähig gemacht wird, damit es per 2015 weltweit regelmäßig eingesetzt werden kann.
  • Bosch Packaging Services wird in Zukunft ihr globales Strategie-Monitoring auf allen Kontinenten mittels ‚Strategy Cockpit 2020‘ halbjährlich remote durchführen. Die Ergebnisse werden von Z-PUNKT CONSULTING aufbereitet und bewertet. Parallel  werden punktuell qualitative Kontrollinterviews geführt. Die jeweiligen Erkenntnisse dienen der BPS zur globalen und regionalen Steuerung der strategischen Entwicklung.

 
More Projects